Tuesday, September 16, 2008

Anwar claims more than 31 MPs will cross over to Pakatan

Anwar claims more than 31 MPs will cross over to Pakatan

PETALING JAYA: Opposition Leader Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim has claimed that more than 31 Barisan MPs have agreed to cross over to Pakatan Rakyat.

He, however, refused to reveal the names of the 31 MPs.

Anwar told a press conference at the PKR headquarters in Petaling Jaya on Tuesday that he would give the list of the names to the Prime Minister, when he meets him.

The Permatang Pauh MP also claimed that the transition to the new Government has been delayed a few days pending the meeting with Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi to ensure a smooth and peaceful transition.

He said it was up to Abdullah to agree to the meeting and its date.

Anwar said that in a letter submitted to Abdullah on Monday, Pakatan had made four demands to ensure a smooth transition:

1) That Barisan does not hinder or prevent the MPs from acting in accordance with their conscience, constitutional rights and independentjudgement;

2) That the Barisan government should not invoke the Internal Security Act to detain the MPs or any other current Pakatan MPs;

3) That the Barisan government does not invoke emergency laws or police powers or suspend the Constitution or dissolve Parliament; and

4) That the Barisan government shall not impose roadblocks or impede MPs from going to Parliament or any institution of government.


1 comment:

Oliver Cromwell said...


Technically, Pakatan Raayat hs the Majority of the House.

Pak Lah must resigned henceforth or call for Vote of Confidence.

Otherwise, Leader of Opposition has right and privilege to call upon Agong to form new government.

Pak Lah can test by a vote of No Confidence !

Agong d=can dismiss Pak Lah soley based on the claims of the Leader of Oppostion who the Agongn has been CONFIDED as to the List of MPs giving Vote to Anwar Ibrahim.

That is one of the practices of Parliamentary Democracy